The Town of Berlin, Connecticut

Country Charm at the Center of Connecticut

Town Council

Starting in November 2017, the Mayor is directly elected by the electors of the town.  The term of office is two years.  The Mayor is part of the Town Council and shall preside at all Council meetings.

Under the Town Charter, the Town Council acts as the legislative body.  The Town Council consists of six members elected biennially for terms of two years each and the Mayor for a seven member board.

Town Council Membership - OnBoard

Town Council Members 2023-2025

The Town Council appoints a Town Manager, who is the Chief Executive Officer of the Town and has appointive and removal authority over department directors and other employees of the Town.  

The Town Manager and the Town Council are responsible for the administration of all Town matters, with the exception of the education system, Kensington and Worthington Fire Districts, the Mattabassett District (which provides water and sewer services to industrial and residential customers) and the Police Department.  

An elected nine-member Board of Education appoints a Superintendent of Schools, who administers the education system of the Town.

To view biographical and contact information for each Council member, please click Staff Directory to the left, under the Town's contact information.

To view Town Council prior to March 2020 Town Council meetings

To view current Meetings of all Boards / Commissions / Committees Boards and Commissions Meetings - Video

View Minutes and Annual Reports

Contact Us

Berlin Town Hall
240 Kensington Rd
Berlin, CT 06037
Get Directions

Topics of Interest

More Information

Find content and services related to this page.

Contact Us:

240 Kensington Road,
Berlin, CT 06037
Phone: 860.828.7000

Town Office Hours:
M-W 8:30am - 4:30pm
Th 8:30am - 7:00pm
F 8:30am - 1:00pm

Police Department:

240 Kensington Road,
Berlin, CT 06037
Dispatch Phone: 860-828-7080
Emergency: 911

Office Hours:
M-F 8:00am - 4:00pm